Sign In Forgot Password

Intersectional Jewish Identities

Thursday, May 13, 2021 2 Sivan 5781

2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Intersectional Jewish Identities
HUC-JIR President Andrew Rehfeld with Mijal Bitton
Thursday, May 13 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

We often speak of American Jews in ways that elide their differences or that assume they are all Ashkenazi or white. But American Jews are characterized by vibrant ethnic and racial diversity that must be understood by those of us working to build inclusive Jewish communities. Through her sociological scholarship on Sephardic Jews in America and her own identity as a Latina immigrant, Dr. Bitton will help us consider what is required to nourish a Jewish American diversity project that is complex, rich, and compelling.

 

 

Oak Park Temple presents “HUC Connect”
An adult learning series produced by
Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion

Imagining Esther: The Splendid Illustrated Esther Scrolls in the HUC Collection
Description Link...
Tuesday, February 23 @ 12-1 pm
Register here (Culture)

Language and Racism in the United States Today
Description Link...
Tuesday, March 2 @ 4:30-5:30 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Race and Identity Today
Description Link...
Thursday, March 4 @ 4:30-5:30 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Infertility in the Ancient World
Description Link...
Tuesday, March 9 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (Women’s Studies)

Children and the Right to Vote
Description Link...
Thursday, March 25 @ 12-1 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

The Qu’ran and the Jews
Description Link...
Tuesday, April 6 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (Religions)

Reflections on the Significance of Holocaust Memory in the 21st Century
Description Link...
Thursday, April 15 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (History)

The World of the Cairo Genizah: The Jews of Medieval Islam
Description Link...
Tuesday, April 27 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (History)

The Apostle Paul: A First-Century Reform Jew?
Description Link...
Tuesday, May 4 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (Religions)

Intersectional Jewish Identities
Description Link...
Thursday, May 13 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Pilgrims and Prisoners: Jews on the High Seas
Description Link...
Thursday, May 27 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (History

Creative Thinking as Our Compass: Navigating Uncertainty with Optimism
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 @ 6:30-7:30 pm
Register here (Parenting)

Chagall and the Bible
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 8 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (Culture)

A Jewish Grand Tour: Should 'Travel' Become the Jewish Practice of Our Age?
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 15 @ 12-1 pm
Register here (History)

Jews, Whiteness, Power and Privilege
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 22, 2021 @ 12:30-1:30 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Supporting the Intellectual and Emotional Needs of Children and One Another
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 29 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (Parenting)

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, February 25 2021 13 Adar 5781