Sign In Forgot Password

Jews, Whiteness, Power and Privilege

Tuesday, June 22, 2021 12 Tammuz 5781

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Jews, Whiteness, Power and Privilege
Marc Dollinger
Tuesday, June 22, 2021 @ 12:30-1:30 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Are American Jews white? The question, answered differently by different generations of American Jews, gets at the heart of American Jewish identity. Have Jews remained separate and distinct from the rest of middle-class America or have they assimilated so much that they have become white? Come explore the contentious history and sociology of Jews and racial definition. Journey back through history and discover some (surprising) insights into the debate over Jewish whiteness.

 

 

Oak Park Temple presents “HUC Connect”
An adult learning series produced by
Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion

Imagining Esther: The Splendid Illustrated Esther Scrolls in the HUC Collection
Description Link...
Tuesday, February 23 @ 12-1 pm
Register here (Culture)

Language and Racism in the United States Today
Description Link...
Tuesday, March 2 @ 4:30-5:30 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Race and Identity Today
Description Link...
Thursday, March 4 @ 4:30-5:30 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Infertility in the Ancient World
Description Link...
Tuesday, March 9 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (Women’s Studies)

Children and the Right to Vote
Description Link...
Thursday, March 25 @ 12-1 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

The Qu’ran and the Jews
Description Link...
Tuesday, April 6 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (Religions)

Reflections on the Significance of Holocaust Memory in the 21st Century
Description Link...
Thursday, April 15 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (History)

The World of the Cairo Genizah: The Jews of Medieval Islam
Description Link...
Tuesday, April 27 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (History)

The Apostle Paul: A First-Century Reform Jew?
Description Link...
Tuesday, May 4 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (Religions)

Intersectional Jewish Identities
Description Link...
Thursday, May 13 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Pilgrims and Prisoners: Jews on the High Seas
Description Link...
Thursday, May 27 @ 5-6 pm
Register here (History

Creative Thinking as Our Compass: Navigating Uncertainty with Optimism
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 @ 6:30-7:30 pm
Register here (Parenting)

Chagall and the Bible
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 8 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (Culture)

A Jewish Grand Tour: Should 'Travel' Become the Jewish Practice of Our Age?
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 15 @ 12-1 pm
Register here (History)

Jews, Whiteness, Power and Privilege
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 22, 2021 @ 12:30-1:30 pm
Register here (Civil Society)

Supporting the Intellectual and Emotional Needs of Children and One Another
Description Link...
Tuesday, June 29 @ 2-3 pm
Register here (Parenting)

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, February 25 2021 13 Adar 5781