Sign In Forgot Password

(Re)Introduction to Judaism - Zoom

Upcoming Sessions

1. Sunday, April 5, 2020 11 Nisan 5780

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

2. Sunday, April 12, 2020 18 Nisan 5780

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

3. Sunday, April 19, 2020 25 Nisan 5780

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

4. Sunday, April 26, 2020 2 Iyar 5780

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

5. Sunday, May 3, 2020 9 Iyar 5780

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

6. Sunday, May 10, 2020 16 Iyar 5780

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

7. Sunday, May 17, 2020 23 Iyar 5780

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Past Sessions
Sunday, March 15, 2020 19 Adar 5780 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday, March 8, 2020 12 Adar 5780 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday, March 1, 2020 5 Adar 5780 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday, February 23, 2020 28 Sh'vat 5780 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday, February 16, 2020 21 Sh'vat 5780 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday, February 9, 2020 14 Sh'vat 5780 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Sunday, January 26, 2020 29 Tevet 5780 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Online with Zoom
To join any Zoom-OPT gathering, simply visit  tinyurl.com/Zoom-OPT.
You can also go to zoom.us/j/4851191476.
To join by phone: 312-626-6799.  
Meeting ID (phone or online): 485-119-1476.

Learn more here about connecting with Zoom.

 

Intro to Judaism Syllabus

 

(Re)Introduction to Judaism with Rabbi Weiss, Rabbi Kirzane, Rabbi Gerson
Sundays Jan. 26 through May 17
$50 materials fee

Explore a modern take on Jewish life.  Engage with Jewish values, celebrations, and spirituality.  Voice your questions, discover multiple perspectives, and find what could be meaningful to you in liberal Judaism.

This is an engaging multi-session course for anyone interested in exploring Jewish life through a Reform lens.  Open to all, this course is perfect for interfaith couples, those raising Jewish children, spiritual seekers, individuals considering conversion, and Jews who want a meaningful adult Jewish learning experience.

Topics include holidays, life cycle celebrations, theology and core beliefs, Hebrew, prayer, the Bible and other sacred texts, history, anti-Semitism and the Holocaust, Zionism and Israel, the American Jewish experience, and the tapestry of the Jewish people today.

The first 30 minutes of each class will incorporate the “Hebrew Reading Crash Course,” sponsored by the National Jewish Outreach Program (NJOP).

Our instructors are Rabbi Max Weiss, Rabbi Daniel Kirzane and Rabbi Gary Gerson.  Dates and topics are below.

Register when you’re ready to reserve your spot.  The $50 registration fee covers the textbook and materials; scholarships are available.

Contact Rabbi Kirzane (rabbikirzane@oakparktemple.org) with questions or for scholarship information.

 

Schedule
Class meets Sundays 7:00-9:00 pm at Oak park Temple.  Each class will include instruction in NJOP’s “Hebrew Reading Crash Course.”

One Shabbat evening experience will be convened, date TBD.

Sorry, Registration has ended.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, April 1 2020 7 Nisan 5780