Sign In Forgot Password

(Re)Introduction to Judaism

Upcoming Sessions

1. Sunday, January 26, 2020 29 Tevet 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

2. Sunday, February 2, 2020 7 Sh'vat 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

3. Sunday, February 16, 2020 21 Sh'vat 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

4. Sunday, February 23, 2020 28 Sh'vat 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

5. Sunday, March 1, 2020 5 Adar 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

6. Sunday, March 8, 2020 12 Adar 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

7. Sunday, March 15, 2020 19 Adar 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

8. Sunday, April 5, 2020 11 Nisan 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

9. Sunday, April 12, 2020 18 Nisan 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

10. Sunday, April 19, 2020 25 Nisan 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

11. Sunday, April 26, 2020 2 Iyar 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

12. Sunday, May 3, 2020 9 Iyar 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

13. Sunday, May 10, 2020 16 Iyar 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

14. Sunday, May 17, 2020 23 Iyar 5780

7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

(Re)Introduction to Judaism with Rabbi Weiss, Rabbi Kirzane, Rabbi Gerson
Sundays Jan. 26 through May 17
$50 materials fee

Explore a modern take on Jewish life.  Engage with Jewish values, celebrations, and spirituality.  Voice your questions, discover multiple perspectives, and find what could be meaningful to you in liberal Judaism.

This is an engaging multi-session course for anyone interested in exploring Jewish life through a Reform lens.  Open to all, this course is perfect for interfaith couples, those raising Jewish children, spiritual seekers, individuals considering conversion, and Jews who want a meaningful adult Jewish learning experience.

Topics include holidays, life cycle celebrations, theology and core beliefs, Hebrew, prayer, the Bible and other sacred texts, history, anti-Semitism and the Holocaust, Zionism and Israel, the American Jewish experience, and the tapestry of the Jewish people today.

Our class will incorporate the “Hebrew Reading Crash Course,” sponsored by the National Jewish Outreach Program (NJOP).

Our instructors are Rabbi Max Weiss, Rabbi Daniel Kirzane, Rabbi Gary Gerson, and Rabbi Amram Abraham.  Dates and topics are below.

Register when you’re ready to reserve your spot.  The $50 registration fee covers the textbook and materials; scholarships are available.

Contact Rabbi Kirzane (rabbikirzane@oakparktemple.org) with questions or for scholarship information.

 

Schedule
Class meets Sundays 7:30-9:00 pm at Oak park Temple.  Each class will include instruction in NJOP’s “Hebrew Reading Crash Course.”

One Shabbat evening experience will be convened, date TBD.

Register

Login

or

Enter Your details

* Name
Address
* Email
* Phone
Notes
Total $
 
Share Print Save To My Calendar
Sun, December 15 2019 17 Kislev 5780